MedTech Innovator Announces AblaCare, Startup with Minimally Invasive Treatment for PCOS-infertility, as Value Award Winner


San Francisco, July 12, 2018MedTech Innovator, the premier nonprofit startup accelerator in the medical technology industry, congratulates AblaCare for being selected as its Value Award winner at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati’s 26th Annual Medical Device Conference on Friday, June 22.

AblaCare is developing a one-time, minimally invasive treatment option for polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS) related infertility. The company’s approach is focused on duplicating the well-recognized benefits of current surgical ovarian drilling offerings while providing a less risky, less invasive, and less costly procedure than current solutions for PCOS. The company hopes to provide women with a more natural, less medicalized pregnancy experience. As the 2018 Value Award winner, AblaCare will receive a $25,000 non-dilutive cash prize and profile in an upcoming issue of the MedTech Strategist.

“We are excited and proud to have been selected for MedTech Innovator’s Value Award competition and are honored to have won the audience vote,” said AblaCare COO Marion Gasperment. “We are dedicated to providing millions of couples around the world facing fertility issues with a more human and effective solution. MedTech Innovator’s acceleration will help us advance the development of our high impact therapy, which is designed to provide a significantly better experience for patients and clinicians.”

“In the last six years of hosting our competition at the WSGR Medical Device Conference, the companies competing have been increasingly impressive and continue to raise the bar with their professionalism, drive and potential to disrupt the industry through innovation,” said MedTech Innovator CEO Paul Grand. “AblaCare is on an important mission to provide a remarkable new solution for the treatment of PCOS-related infertility. We are pleased that the medtech executives in this year’s audience recognized the strength of the company’s value proposition and the importance of their goal.”

Each year, four companies from the MedTech Innovator Accelerator are selected for the Value Award competition and are given the opportunity to present before a panel of judges and the audience of WSGR’s conference attendees. This year’s companies – Aurigen Medical, Pneumonics, Ictero Medical and AblaCare – each had three minutes to present their products, business plans, and value proposition. The teams were then given another seven minutes to answer the judges’ questions. This year’s judges included Renee Ryan of Johnson & Johnson, Linda Elkins of W. L. Gore, Kwame Ulmer of MedTech Color and Jenell Robinson of MedTech Innovator.

Prior to the Value Award competition, MedTech Innovator hosted a two-day kickoff summit for the 25 accelerator companies selected from a record-breaking pool of 700 applicants in 2018 . The companies had the chance to meet with the organization’s industry-leading sponsors to help perfect their value propositions before presenting to a panel of judges. The value proposition presentations were then used to select the four companies who went on to compete for the WSGR audience vote on June 22.

All 25 companies will continue on to the MedTech Innovator Showcase and have a chance to present in the competition finals, both of which will be held Sept. 24 to 26 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania during The MedTech Conference powered by AdvaMed.


About MedTech Innovator

Based in Los Angeles, Calif., MedTech Innovator is the premier nonprofit startup accelerator in the medical technology industry. Our mission is to improve the lives of patients by accelerating the growth of companies that are transforming the healthcare system. MedTech Innovator matches healthcare industry leaders with innovative early-stage and emerging growth medtech companies for mentorship and support. For more information about MedTech Innovator, visit and follow @MedTechAwards on Twitter. To receive industry insights and highlights about MedTech Innovator’s current and alumni participant companies, subscribe to our monthly newsletter..


Media Contact:

Lara Lingenbrink